Dr. Henning Frase

Partner
Cologne
Berlin

Dr Henning Frase advises our clients from Germany and abroad on complex tax law issues, reorganisations and corporate transactions (M&A) in terms of corporate law as well as comprehensive tax law. Repeatedly he has won client cases in front of the Federal Fiscal Court.

Qualifications

  • Rechtsanwalt (Attorney-at-Law)
  • Steuerberater (Certified Tax Advisor)
  • Fachanwalt für Steuerrecht (Certified Tax Lawyer)
  • Dr. iur. (University of Augsburg, summa cum laude)
  • LL.M. oec.

Current Cases

  • Foreign investors, cross-border share deal acquisitions of German GmbH companies with subsidiaries across Europe (corporate and tax law assistance)
  • Legal and tax optimization and negotiations of ESOP and VSOP equity incentive schemes
  • Representation in front of the German Federal Fiscal Court (in Munich)
  • Representation of clients (German Mittelstand as well as multinational groups of companies) in tax audits and transfer pricing litigations
  • Ongoing corporate and tax law assistance to multinational companies
  • Cross-border tax planning for private individuals (protection against double taxation and exit taxation)
  • Tax and corporate law structuring with crypto assets (e.g. tax and legal assistance with hybrid foundations under German law)

Career

Dr Henning Frase studied law in Bonn, Italy, Geneva and Cologne. Moreover, he has spent one year in the US (Atlanta) and been a legal trainee in Brussels and Milan. He was a scholarship holder of the Studienförderwerk der Stiftung der Deutschen Wirtschaft (sdw). His Dr. iur. degree was awarded by the University of Augsburg (with distinction) on a comparative work on German and Italian corporate law.  

He was a lawyer and tax advisor at an international law firm in Frankfurt (2010-2016) after three years at KPMG’s international corporate tax department (2007-2010). Finally, before joining 3T, Dr Henning Frase was an Associate Partner at a tax law boutique in Cologne. Dr Henning Frase regularly publishes on tax law and corporate law (List of Publications RA StB Dr. Henning Frase as of 30 May 2021) and speaks on tax law conferences across Germany and abroad.

Skip to main content

Dr. Henning Frase

Partner
Köln
Berlin

Dr. Henning Frase begleitet unsere Mandanten aus dem In- und Ausland bei komplexen Projekten, Umstrukturierungen und Transaktionen effizient und umfassend steuerrechtlich sowie gesellschaftsrechtlich.

Qualifikationen

  • Rechtsanwalt
  • Steuerberater
  • Fachanwalt für Steuerrecht
  • Fachberater für Internationales Steuerrecht
  • Dr. iur. (Universität Augsburg)
  • LL.M. oec.

Referenzmandate

  • Investoren aus dem In- und Ausland bei Unternehmenskäufen (rechtlich und steuerlich)
  • Rechtliche und steuerliche Optimierung unterschiedlicher Managementbeteiligungsprogramme (virtuell oder ESOP)
  • Verfahren vor dem Bundesfinanzhof
  • Vertretung in Betriebsprüfungen und Verrechnungspreisstreitigkeiten
  • Laufende gesellschafts- und steuerrechtliche Begleitung international tätiger Unternehmensgruppen
  • Grenzüberschreitende Steuerplanung für Privatpersonen (Schutz vor Doppel- und Wegzugsbesteuerung, Nachfolgeplanung)
  • Steuer-, Bilanz- und Zivilrecht der Kryptowährungen (u.a. Hybridstiftungen)
  • Steuer- und gesellschaftsrechtliche Betreuung ausgewählter gemeinnütziger Körperschaften (gGmbH, Verein, Stiftungen)

Ausbildung und Karriere

Dr. Henning Frase hat nach der Schulzeit in Deutschland und den USA in Bonn, Ferrara, Genf und Köln studiert, in Augsburg zum deutsch-italienischen Gesellschafts- und Steuerrecht promoviert und das Rechtsreferendariat unter anderem beim Auswärtigen Amt in Mailand, in Brüssel sowie bei einem DAX-Unternehmen absolviert. Er war Stipendiat des Studienförderwerks der Stiftung der Deutschen Wirtschaft (sdw).

Seine Beraterkarriere begann er 2007 bei KPMG (u.a. International Corporate Tax sowie KPMG Law) und setzte diese 2010 bis 2015 für fünf Jahre als Rechtsanwalt und Steuerberater bei Bird & Bird in Frankfurt fort. Vor der Gründung von 3T war Dr. Henning Frase Assoziierter Partner der Steuerrechtsboutique ckss in Köln. Dr. Henning Frase ist als Fachautor (Schriftenverzeichnis RA StB FAStR Dr. Henning Frase LL.M.) und Fachreferent zu steuerrechtlichen Themen, insbesondere an der Schnittstelle zum Gesellschaftsrecht, bundesweit gefragt.

DE